List of The Provinces and Territories in Canada and Their Capitals

Canada has ten provinces and three territories. Each has its own capital city. It goes without saying it is very important to know the capital of your province or territory.

With a total area of 9,984,670 km2, Canada is the second-largest country in the world, just behind Russia.


The ten provinces and three territories in Canada are sub-national administrative divisions under the jurisdiction of the Canadian Constitution.

According to contemporary Canadian constitutional theory, the provinces are recognized as co-sovereign entities in specific domains determined by the allocation of responsibilities between the provincial and federal governments under the Constitution Act, 1867. Consequently, each province appoints its own representative of the Canadian Crown, known as the lieutenant governor.

List of the ten Provinces in Canada, Their Capitals and Sizes

ProvinceCapital CityTotal Area (km2)
QuebecQuebec City1,542,056
Nova ScotiaHalifax55,284
New BrunswickFredericton72,908
British ColumbiaVictoria944,735
Prince Edward IslandCharlottetown5,660
Newfoundland and LabradorSt. Johns405,212

Note that “Total Area” includes both land and water.


Canada comprises three territories. Unlike the provinces, these Canadian territories lack inherent sovereignty and possess only those powers granted to them by the federal government. These territories encompass all of mainland Canada situated north of the 60th parallel and to the west of Hudson Bay, as well as all the islands located to the north of the Canadian mainland, ranging from those in James Bay to the Queen Elizabeth Islands.

List of the three Territories in Canada, Their Capitals and Sizes

TerritoryCapitalTotal Area (km2)
Northwest TerritoriesYellowknife1,346,106